“Lightning Strikes, Maybe Once, Maybe Twice”

lightning_strike“Lightning strikes, maybe once, maybe twice.” — ‘Gypsy’ by Fleetwood Mac

I have been so long off the blog but it’s because Stuff ™ happened to me last year.  One, I was diagnosed with Endometirosis and had a complete hysterectomy (I’m 45).  Loki did not leave my side the entire time.  In fact, I had my crocheted Ami Loki with me in the hospital.  As soon as they put me in my room, I asked for him.  I am now experiencing menopause in my 40s and have to avoid hormones, including soy, on the off chance that it would stimulate any microscopic bits of the Endo that might still be there and bring it back.  A possibility of cancer still exists as well.

This was a pretty serious time in my life, as there was a very long period where I wondered if I actually did have Ovarian Cancer, and we had to wait for tests as well as the surgery to find out for sure.  Ovarian Cancer is a pretty terminal diagnosis.  So I did spend a lot of sleepless nights wondering if I was going to die.

One of the unusual things that came out of this was an assurance that if I did, I was okay with it.  That, and the fact that I didn’t do what I had been secretly wondering about if something like this ever happened.  I did not turn back to Christianity.  I became quite aware of Loki during the summer.  He was there the entire time, supporting me.

It’s taken a long time, but I have finally decided to go ahead and get my Loki tattoo.  I was going to do it in December, at the 3 month mark, but things happened and I decided to wait longer.

However, this summer, when I go to visit my family in Phoenix, I’m going to my Dad’s favorite tattoo shop and getting it.

Leave a Reply

